Le mont des Oliviers hier et aujourd’hui

Le mont des Oliviers hier et aujourd’hui

Le Mont est l’un des plus beaux endroits de la Terre Sainte et joue un rôle unique dans la vie de Jésus. Où cela se trouve, et que s’est-il passé là-bas? Cet article évoque la Terre Sainte et le Mont des Oliviers.

La localisation en premier lieu

Le mont des Oliviers sépare la ville de Jérusalem du désert de Judée, et de là-bas il descend vers la mer Morte. La vallée de Cédron ou Kidron entoure Jérusalem à l’Est et sépare le Mont des Oliviers de la ville. Au Sud, se trouve le Mont Sion et au Nord, le mont Scopus.

Les caractéristiques uniques

La montagne est séparée en trois zones, de celles-ci descendent les routes allant vers la vallée. Du nord au sud s’étend « Karm as-Sayyad » (« vignoble du chasseur »), atteignant 818 mètres d’altitude; Au centre est se trouve « Jebel et-Tur » (« montagne sainte ») mesurant 808 mètres de haut; et au sud-ouest, de l’autre côté de la route Jérusalem-Jéricho, se trouve « Bet el Hawa », également connu sous le nom de « Mount Scandal », mesurant 713 mètres de haut.

Les oliviers

Le nom du mont provient des oliviers qui ont poussé sur ses pentes pendant des milliers d’années, et certains des plus vieux arbres du monde s’y trouvent encore. La montagne est également connue sous le Mont de l’Onction. L’origine de cette huile vient de la tradition juive. L’huile des feuilles était utilisée pour oindre les grands prêtres et le roi.

Jésus sur le Mont

Jésus a posé un pied sur la montagne immédiatement après le dernier souper, en traversant la vallée Gethsémané.

Un épisode particulièrement pertinent dans la vie de Jésus est aussi l’un des souvenirs chrétiens les plus importants produit sur le Mont des Olivers. Celui de l’enseignement de la Prière du Seigneur: Eleona ou la Grotte de la Prière du Seigneur. Mais ce n’est pas le seul : Les pleurs sur Jérusalem: Dominus Flevit, l’acclamation lors de son entrée dans La Ville Sainte sur le dos d’un âne: le sanctuaire de Bethphage, la prière dans le jardin de Gethsémani, suivie de sa capture: l’église de Gethsémané, le jardin des oliviers et la grotte de Gethsémani. Sans oublier l’ascension de Jésus vers le paradis, qui se produisit au sommet du mont: l’édicule de l’Ascension.

 

By clicking Subscribe, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
Fermer le menu
×
×

Panier

Mount of Olives yesterday and today

Mount of Olives yesterday and today

  • Jesus

The Mount is one of the most beautiful locations in the Holy Land and it has a unique role in Jesus’s life. Where is it and what happened there? This article opens a series on the Holy Land and the Mount of Olives.

Location first

The Mount of Olives separates the city of Jerusalem from the Judean Desert; from here it begins its descent towards the Dead Sea. The Kidron Valley surrounds Jerusalem to the east and separates the Mount from the city. On the south, there is Mount Zion and on the north, there is Mount Scopus.

Unique Features

The Mountain has three areas of uniquely high ground from which descend steep roads to the valley. From the north to the south extends “Karm as-Sayyad” (“vineyard of the hunter”), reaching 818 meters of altitude; in the center is “Jebel et-Tur” (“holy mountain”) at 808 meters; and to the southwest, on the far side of the Jerusalem-Jericho road, is “Bet el Hawa” (“belly of the wind”), also known as “Mount Scandal”, at 713 meters high.

The Olives

The name of the Mountain comes from the olive trees that have grown on its slopes for thousands of years, and some of the oldest olive trees in the world are still there. The mountain is also known as the Mount of Unction. The reason for it origins from the use of the oil in the Jewish tradition. The oil from the leaves was used to anoint the high priests and the king.

Jesus on the Mountain

Jesus set foot on the mountain immediately after the last supper, crossing the valley into Gethsemane. An especially relevant episode in Jesus’s life is also one of the most important Christian memories accrued on the Mount of Olives. That is the teaching of the Lord’s Prayer: Eleona or the Grotto of the Lord’s Prayer. But it isn’t the only one: Weeping over Jerusalem: Dominus Flevit. Acclamation upon his entry into the Holy City on the back of a donkey: the sanctuary of Bethphage. The prayer in the garden of Gethsemane followed by his capture:   and next to it there are – Garden of Olives and Grotto of Gethsemane. And Jesus’s Ascension into Heaven, which occurred at the summit of the mount: the Edicule of the Ascension.
Facebook
Google+
Twitter
WhatsApp
By clicking Subscribe, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
Close Menu
×
×

Cart